HELPER: The Power of Womanhood

Bride and Groom

Over the years I have grown to love attending wedding services because every time I do, I get a refresher on an element concerning marriage. Last Saturday, July 1, 2017 I attended the wedding service of one of the young girls Chris and I have been discipling closely for the last six months. Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi both officiated and preached at the service. He is one of those personalities whose demeanor calls for attention even before he opens his mouth so needless to say, I was all ears.

He spoke about five attributes of love from the famous 1 Corinthians 13 but what struck me hard was a reference he made to the story of creation of man in the book of Genesis. He brought to our attention the fact that Eve was brought to Adam, literally on a silver plate. This was after God declared in verse 18 of chapter 2;

“It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper comparable to him.

The quotation threw my mind on a journey of reflection over my role as a helper. Unfortunately the word helper has become synonymous with a “less than” connotation and yet there is such power in the role. Something else we seem to skip over is the fact that following closely is the little yet powerful word “comparable”. The dictionary meaning of the word “comparable” is  a person or thing able to be likened to another; similar. This implies that the woman is likened, akin to, equivalent, similar to the man. In their creator’s view, the women are in no way less than the men. That said, at the point of her creation the woman’s role was crystal clear! To be a helper.

What does this mean for you and I? What does that even look like in real life? A good place to start is to examine your husband’s life purpose. Then find ways in which you can compliment and support him in order to make him shine in his purpose.

“The heart of her husband safely trusts her; So he will have no lack of gain.” Proverbs 31:11

I find that when I embrace my role as a helper to my husband (aide, teammate, coworker, associate, colleague, partner, right hand woman), there is an indescribable surge of power in the home! My husband is gifted with thinking big picture while I automatically think details. I cannot begin to tell you how many times we have frustrated each other in conversation because as he is painting the big picture I am busy interrupting with the details which disrupt his trail of thought. And then I end up being angry because in my world, I am thinking he is being irrational by not putting all the details into consideration before he goes off into his dream world! However, on the times I have chosen to think of myself as a helper, it has been so peaceful and productive I wonder why I do not stay in that mode all the time! In such a case I would listen to his incredible ideas without interrupting, give it a few hours and then get back to him with the same idea put under the microscope of my excel tendencies. It always works. I am more pleasant and he is willing to listen!

“Her husband is known in gates, when he sits among the elders of the land.” Proverbs 31:23

Being your husband’s helper does not make you less than him. On the contrary, in this role lies the real power of womanhood. Just imagine your husband shining bright and deep joy knowing that even when they may not acknowledge it, you contributed heavily to the product the world is experiencing. And the beauty is you too will shine in the process.

HELPER! The Power of Womanhood.

 

 

 

 

Author: lynnetknsubuga

Worship Leader. Prophet. Children's Advocate.

4 thoughts on “HELPER: The Power of Womanhood”

  1. Nicely put.
    Thank you for sharing and for the good interpretation .
    Will purpose to be a good HELPER when the time comes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

